Life

Our Trip to White Sands National Monument

White Sands National Monument, in New Mexico, was simply AMAZING. My family and I have been wanting to visit it every since we moved to El Paso. With the high winds dying down a bit we finally jumped on the opportunity to visit and we were not disappointed.

PicsArt_04-08-02.18.32
Alexis rushing to meet Bryan at the top

 

The sand dunes were so powdery white that Alexis yelled “Snow!” As soon as we told her it was sand, she immediately started to remove her shoes in the car. We arrived at the area where the sledding takes place and the first step out into the sand was not what I expected. The sand was cold! OK, so maybe not freezing cold but it was a lot cooler than I thought it was going to be. It was also probably the softest sand I have ever walked on in my life. At one point my husband sank all the way up to his knees. (I wish I had a picture of that because it was simply hilarious.)

PicsArt_04-08-02.17.07
Bryan giving the disk a good wax

 

Not going to lie, I was a little nervous for Alexis the first time she sled down the dune. (She has never really been a “slide” person.) She did so great though! Before we knew it she was taking the disk away from Bryan and going down all on her own.

It all looked like so much fun that I had to give it a try. Being that I am over 19 weeks pregnant, it was a little rough for me trying to climb to the top. (Don’t judge, I was extremely cautious. The sand was extremely soft and the descend was slow.) I went down about three more times before I tired myself out.

PicsArt_04-08-02.25.06
First time sledding down the sand dune

 

Noon came around and the sun started to really reflect off of the white sand. We also ran out of water and got hungry, so we called it a day. Overall we spent about an hour and a half out there, which was plenty of time for our first visit. There was so much we didn’t get to see that we will have to make another trip soon. I CANNOT wait to return and visit around sunset next time!

(For more pictures visit the PHOTOGRAPHY PAGE)

 *White Sands is surrounded by military installations that periodically conduct missle training. Check to see if the monument is open before going to visit. To learn more follow the link below**  https://www.nps.gov/whsa/index.htm

2 thoughts on “Our Trip to White Sands National Monument”

Leave a Reply

