Life

I Am Not Poor

When I was in elementary school I remember sitting at the jungle gym during lunch time. I can’t recall who I was with but I was with some friends. Out of no where this little girl in my grade came up to me and bluntly said to me “I feel sorry for you, because my parents said you are poor.” I had no idea what she was talking about. I didn’t know anything about being “poor.” As she continued on I started crying out of pure embarrassment. I began to evaluate and compare my living situation to my friends. I spent the rest of my day crying. As I arrived at home that day my Mom realized something was bothering me so she asked me what happened. “Are we poor? ” I asked her. She became very upset when I told her what happened that day.

I didn’t really understand it at the time, but as I have grown into adulthood it has become clear to me why she was upset.
My mom had always had really bad medical conditions, so my dad stayed home to take care of her. Because of him, she is still alive today. I never had those cool bell bottoms, that designer coach handbag, or even one of those digital pets, and for the most part, I grew up happy.
Materialistic things don’t matter.
As long as I have God and my family,I will forever be rich. Rich with love, happiness, and Gods grace.

So to that little girl,I say this with zero embarrassment and lots of pride…

I may have had to heat up my bath water on the stove first in the winter in order to not freeze in the tub..

But I was NOT poor.

I may have had to catch rain water from a leaky ceiling when it rained..

But I was NOT poor.

I was the one eating expired food from the food pantry..

But I was NOT Poor.

I was made fun of for my big dorky medicaid glasses..

But I was not poor.

I may have had on high waters and shoes that wouldn’t fit right..

But I was NOT poor.

I may have had to sleep with 4 heavy blankets to stay warm at night..

BUT I WAS NOT POOR.

Growing up the way I did taught me so much. I learned to be tough. I learned that life is definitely what you make it. I learned to not be greedy, and I learned to always give rather than recieve. Above all, I learned to be myself, and never be ashamed of who I am and where I come from.
Now, I have a wonderful husband who has never judged me, wonderful friends who will always stand by me, a beautiful daughter and a baby on the way. If only I could go back to that day, wipe away my own tears, and tell myself that someday I would feel like the richest girl in the world.

Romans 12:2
“Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.”

3 thoughts on “I Am Not Poor”

Leave a Reply

